Waving Saltire Square and Compasses

The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire

Square and Compasses Waving Saltire

Clubhouse Alloa GC

Provincial Grand Lodge
Golf Competition

Clubhouse Alloa GC

2013 saw a change in venue for the Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire Annual Golf Competition which was played on Sunday 12th May at Schawpark Golf Course, Alloa. However the change of venue did not give us a change in weather as it rained for the majority of the day.

This however again did not deter the golfers, some 60, who completed 18 holes of golf.

The course, even with the rain, was in a good condition and the thanks of all go to the green-keeping team and the members of Schawpark for their efforts.

An excellent meal was served up by the staff in the clubhouse after the Golf and the thanks of all present go to them.

After the meal was finished, the RWPGM, Bro Andrew McKinnon addressed the Brethren and ladies present.

He thanked the golf committee for all the work in making the day a success, even with inclement weather. He also thanked the staff at Schawpark for the very efficient manner in which they had supplied rolls, tea and coffee first thing in the morning, and for the excellent buffet provided in the afternoon.

 The brethren who had attended and taken part in the competition, and those who didn’t play golf, were thanked for their attendance, and the monies raised in sponsorship and fees paid. The total raised over the years is more than £50,000 for various charities. 

After the presentation of the various prizes and awards, the convener, Bro Allan Leishman thanked Mrs McKinnon for presenting the prizes, for which she received a lovely bouquet of flowers.

The brethren were thanked once again for all their efforts in raising sponsorship, and of course for having a good golfing day, despite the weather.

The winners, as listed below, were presented their awards by the RWPGM's wife Elizabeth.

The Winners

Overall Winners

C Horseburgh & K Gillespie


Runners Up

M McGhie & T Paterson


Sub Team Winners

S Stirling & W Stirling     


Sub Team Runners Up

G Reid & T Carberry


Nearest the Pin 7th Hole

A Shearer 


Nearest the Pin 15th Hole

M McGhie


Longest Drive 12th Hole

L Carberry


Willie Gilchrist Trophy (Highest 18 Hole Score)

P Duffin


Alex Lapsley Shield (Best Scratch Score)

K. Gillespie


Stableford Scratch 1 to 9

K. Gillespie


Stableford 10 to 18

P Neilson


There were also 3 Special Awards given.

Bro Ian Dorn, 391

Had a Hamlet moment at the 6th hole as he took 6 shots to get out of the bunker.

Bro Tom Paterson, 771

With the supporting crowd in the clubhouse watching, Bro Paterson tried to chip onto the green at the 18th and totally duffed his shot.

 Bro George Balmer, 531

On the 14th tee, he sliced his first shot so much that it landed in the 2nd fairway. His second shot was down the 2nd Fairway., His third shot from the 2nd fairway landed in the rough between the 2nd fairway and the 14th fairway approximately 90 yards from the 14th pin. From there he chipped his fourth shot into the hole for a par 4

This year also saw the re-introduction of the Porridge Club Award.

The winner of the award this year tried to chip into the green at the 9th hole, however he over hit the ball and it was heading for someones lounge window, probably not fo rthe first time, but fortunately it hit a branch on a nearby tree and bounced back out onto the green.

The recipient this year was

Bro Stuart Stirling, 139. However Stuart this year was playing for Provincial Grand Lodge.

Past Winners

1992  Lodge Dolphin No 911
1993  Lodge St Andrew No 176
1994  Lodge Zetland No 391
1995  Lodge Craiginnan No 850
1996  Lodge St John No 16
1997  Lodge Clackmannan No 1303
1998  Lodge St Servanus No 771
1999  The Lodge of Alloa No 69
2000  Lodge St Andrew No 176
2001  Provincial Grand Lodge
2002  Lodge Ben Cluech No 782
2003 Lodge St John Slamannan No 484
2004 The Lodge of Alloa No 69
2005 Lodge Abercromby No 531
2006 Lodge Zetland No 391
2007 Lodge Zetland No 391
2008 Lodge Abercromby No 531
2009 Lodge St Andrew (Denny and Loanhead) No 176
2010  Lodge Craiginnan No 850
2011 Lodge Callendar No 588
2012 Lodge Slamannan No 484
2013 Lodge Polmont No 793


Please contact our Webmaster with any Technical Comments or questions about this site or to provide updates to the site content.

Disclaimer - for the use of this site please refer to the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy by clicking on the relevant button in the index.

Copyright © The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire All Rights Reserved 2002 - .