Waving Saltire Square and Compasses

The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire

Square and Compasses Waving Saltire

Clubhouse Alloa GC

Provincial Grand Lodge
Golf Competition

Clubhouse Alloa GC
2014 saw the second year for the Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire Annual Golf Competition to be played at the home of Alloa Golf Club, Schawpark Golf Course, Alloa on Sunday 11th May.

The weather was a little kinder to the 60 or so players than it was last year, as all managed to complete 18 holes of golf with only the lightest of shower towards the end of the rounds.

The course, even with the rain that had previously fallen, was in a good condition and the thanks of all go to the green-keeping team and the members of Schawpark for their efforts.

Another excellent meal was served up by the staff in the clubhouse after the Golf and the thanks of all present go to them.

After the meal was finished, the RWPGM, Bro Andrew McKinnon addressed the Brethren and ladies present.

He thanked the golf committee for all the work in making the day a success. He also thanked the staff at Schawpark for the very efficient manner in which they had supplied rolls, tea and coffee first thing in the morning, and for the excellent buffet provided in the afternoon.

 The brethren who had attended and taken part in the competition, and those who didn’t play golf, were thanked for their attendance, and the monies raised in sponsorship and fees paid. The total raised over the years is more than £50,000 for various charities. 

After the presentation of the various prizes and awards, the convenor, Bro Allan Leishman thanked Mrs McKinnon for presenting the prizes, for which she received a lovely bouquet of flowers.

The brethren were thanked once again for all their efforts in raising sponsorship, and of course for having a good golfing day.

The winners, as listed below, were presented their awards by the RWPGM's wife Elizabeth.

The Winners

Overall Winners

D Stevenson & W Rankine
Lodge Bannockburn Bruce and Thistle No 312

Runners Up

M McGhie & T Paterson
Lodge St Servanus No 771

Sub Team Winners

S Stirling & T Meikle
Lodge Carron No 139

Sub Team Runners Up

A McGregor & L Carberry
Lodge St John Tulliallan No 598

Nearest the Pin 7th Hole

K McLennan
Lodge Carron No 139

Nearest the Pin 13th Hole

I Barron
Lodge Carron No 139

Longest Drive 17th Hole

D Stevenson
Lodge Bannockburn Bruce and Thistle No 312

Willie Gilchrist Trophy (Highest 18 Hole Score)

J Muir
Lodge Dolphin No 911

Alex Lapsley Shield (Best Scratch Score)

A Shearer
Lodge Callendar No 588

Stableford Scratch 1 to 9

M Empson
Lodge Ladywell No 1474

Stableford 10 to 18

W Rankin
Lodge Bannockburn Bruce and Thistle No 312

There were also 3 Special Awards given.

Bro Fraser Robb, Lodge Loch Lomond No 1483

Fraser managed to drive off the tee and the ball landed just a few inches from its original position

Bro John Cowan, Lodge St John Tulliallan No 598

John wandered round the course with largest hip flask I have ever seen, which reputedly held 2 bottles of whisky. I am also assured that it was empty on the return to the clubouse.

 Porridge Club Award.

The winner of the award this year had as short a drive as Fraser above, but he did not strike the ball. Instead he drove his club into the ground before the ball, the resulting divot then struck the ball, knocking it off the tee, landing just a few inches from its original position

The recipient this year was Bro Russell Scott, Lodge Ladywell No 1474.

Past Winners

1992  Lodge Dolphin No 911
1993  Lodge St Andrew No 176
1994  Lodge Zetland No 391
1995  Lodge Craiginnan No 850
1996  Lodge St John No 16
1997  Lodge Clackmannan No 1303
1998  Lodge St Servanus No 771
1999  The Lodge of Alloa No 69
2000  Lodge St Andrew No 176
2001  Provincial Grand Lodge
2002  Lodge Ben Cluech No 782
2003 Lodge St John Slamannan No 484
2004 The Lodge of Alloa No 69
2005 Lodge Abercromby No 531
2006 Lodge Zetland No 391
2007 Lodge Zetland No 391
2008 Lodge Abercromby No 531
2009 Lodge St Andrew (Denny and Loanhead) No 176
2010  Lodge Craiginnan No 850
2011 Lodge Callendar No 588
2012 Lodge Slamannan No 484
2013 Lodge Polmont No 793
2014 Lodge Bannockburn Bruce and Thistle No 312


Please contact our Webmaster with any Technical Comments or questions about this site or to provide updates to the site content.

Disclaimer - for the use of this site please refer to the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy by clicking on the relevant button in the index.

Copyright © The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire All Rights Reserved 2002 - .