Waving Saltire Square and Compasses

The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire

Square and Compasses Waving Saltire

Clubhouse Alloa GC 

Provincial Grand Lodge
Golf Competition

Clubhouse Alloa GC 

2016 saw the fourth year for the Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire Annual Golf Competition to be played at the home of Alloa Golf Club, Schawpark Golf Course, Alloa on Sunday 9th May 2016.

The weather was greatly improved from previous years and although it started off damp, by the time the players were finished the weather was warm and sunny.

The course was in a good condition and the thanks of all go to the green-keeping team and the members of Schawpark for their efforts.

Another excellent meal was served up by the staff in the clubhouse after the Golf and the thanks of all present go to them.

After the meal was finished, the RWPGM, Bro Alistair T Marshall addressed the Brethren and ladies present.

He thanked the golf committee for all the work in making the day a success. He also thanked the staff at Schawpark for the very efficient manner in which they had supplied rolls, tea and coffee first thing in the morning, and for the excellent buffet provided in the afternoon.

 The brethren who had attended and taken part in the competition, and those who didn’t play golf, were thanked for their attendance, and the monies raised in sponsorship and fees paid. The total raised over the years is more than £54,000 for various charities. 

After the presentation of the various prizes and awards, the convener, Bro Allan Leishman thanked Mrs Marshall for presenting the prizes, for which she received a lovely bouquet of flowers.

The brethren were thanked once again for all their efforts in raising sponsorship, and of course for having a good golfing day.

The winners, as listed below, were presented their awards by the RWPGM's wife Jen.

To view pictures from the day click the camera.

The Winners

Overall Winners

Martin McGhee and Martin Taylor
Lodge St  Servanus No 771

Runners Up

Stuart Stirling and Ian Rae
Lodge Carron No 139

Sub Team Winners

Robert Easton and Barclay Burland
Lodge St John Auchterarder No 46

Sub Team Runners Up

Stuart Stirling and Walter Stirling
Lodge Zetland No 391

Nearest the Pin 7th Hole

Tom White
Provincial Grand Lodge

Nearest the Pin 15th Hole

Campbell McCulloch
Lodge Polmont No 793

Longest Drive 17th Hole

John Cowan
Lodge St John, Tulliallan No 598

Willie Gilchrist Trophy (Highest 18 Hole Score)

Steven Stewart
Lodge Ladywell No 1474

Alex Lapsley Shield (Best Scratch Score)

Ian Rae
Lodge Carron No 139

Stableford Scratch 1 to 9

Martin McGhee
Lodge St  Servanus No 771

Stableford 10 to 18

Willie Rankine
Lodge Bannockburn No 312

There were also 4 nominations for the Special Awards

Bro Steven Stewart, Lodge Ladywell No 1474.

Steven, who despite all efforts, managed the shortest drive of the day when, on the 6th hole, he hit his ball and didn't even manage to drive it past the ladies tee. He was unfortunately not one of the recipients but was close and worthy of a mention.

Bro Willie Rankine, Lodge Bannockburn No 312.

Willie's ball managed, on his drive from the 1st tee, to find the only drain hole within miles and was forced to drop.

Bro Ian Sharp, Lodge Clackmannan No 1303

Ian was awarded for 2 reasons, the first was for the wearing of his wife's nightgown on the course, see picture below, and secondly for knocking over a number of drinks at the table.

Ian Sharp 

Ian Sharp 

Porridge Club Award.

The winner of the award this year was when on 17th green, ready to play and a dog ran from the undergrowth, onto the green and runs off with his ball.

The recipient this year was Bro Robert Spence, Lodge Ladywell No 1474.

Past Winners

1992 Lodge Dolphin No 911
1993 Lodge St Andrew No 176
1994 Lodge Zetland No 391
1995 Lodge Craiginnan No 850
1996 Lodge St John No 16
1997 Lodge Clackmannan No 1303
1998 Lodge St Servanus No 771

1999 The Lodge of Alloa No 69
2000 Lodge St Andrew No 176
2001 Provincial Grand Lodge
2002 Lodge Ben Cluech No 782
2003 Lodge St John Slamannan No 484
2004 The Lodge of Alloa No 69
2005 Lodge Abercromby No 531
2006 Lodge Zetland No 391
2007 Lodge Zetland No 391
2008 Lodge Abercromby No 531
2009 Lodge St Andrew (Denny and Loanhead) No 176
2010 Lodge Craiginnan No 850
2011 Lodge Callendar No 588
2012 Lodge Slamannan No 484
2013 Lodge Polmont No 793
2014 Lodge Bannockburn Bruce and Thistle No 312
2015 Lodge St John Tulliallan No 598
2016 Lodge St Servanus No 771


Please contact our Webmaster with any Technical Comments or questions about this site or to provide updates to the site content.

Disclaimer - for the use of this site please refer to the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy by clicking on the relevant button in the index.

Copyright © The Provincial Grand Lodge of Stirlingshire All Rights Reserved 2002 - .